15 Great Business Books You Should Definitely Read This Year

Standard

wp-pic

It’s impossible to check out every new book, and that can mean missing out on new ideas and perspectives that can improve your business–and sometimes you, too.

That’s why I love this list of books from Mareo McCracken, the revenue leader at Movemedical. (Consider following him on LinkedIn–he often takes an unusual approach to overcoming challenges most of us face.)

Two I’ve read. The rest I haven’t–yet.

Here’s Mareo:

This year I did something I hope no one else has to suffer through. I read 103 books. One hundred and three. Way too many for my current situation, and I love reading. (Also, I attained Diamond Status on Delta. Which means I wasn’t home with my family enough this year. Which is a lesson/regret/story for another post.)

My goal this year was to read 100 books. I accomplished that goal; it makes me proud to say it.

It makes me foolish for doing it.

So what are the two things that are better than reading? I don’t think I am any smarter or better off than when I only read 50 books a year. I just spent more time reading and less time “pondering.” I spent less time than I should have “doing”. I am not going to let that happen again.

Why I read has changed. I used to read for myself. Now I read for others.

I used to read to escape reality. Now I read to really live better.

I read to help others. I read for my wife. I read for my kids. I read for my colleagues.

Pondering (deep thinking) and doing are both more important than reading.

For the past few years, I published my list of the top 10 nonfiction books that had the biggest impact on me. This year, creating this list was much harder, because I had almost twice as many books to choose from as normal. These books were not necessarily new in 2016 (some were), but they were new to me and caused me to me think differently or change my actions in some way. These are books to “ponder” and books to help you “do.” They helped me; I hope they can help you as well.

In alphabetical order, here are the 10 books that had the largest impact on me last year:

 

 

Read more on… 15 Great Business Books You Should Definitely Read This Year

Author: Jeff Haden

Leave a Reply

